It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Every human is free to believe in what he feels is right. People believe in differnet things, this is because no two human is same. Everyone has their own experiences, different culture, different upbring. All these factors influence and develop certain beliefs. Few believe in god, few are atheists, and both are right in their respective ways. People are defined by their beliefs. These beliefs sometimes bring the good out of people sometimes these beliefs are their worst enemy. Although I mostly agree that adhering to own's belief is the right thing to do, but sometimes compromising on them can be life changing, and in a good way, supporting are two reasons for it. As I said before, not everyone is the same, people have different experiences regarding different things, and these experiences develop certain beliefs. Depending on the experience, a belief can be positive or negative. For example, Kids living in destitution, having spent most of their childhood in depravity, doing menial work just to feel their stomachs, may develop a belief that money is the most important thing in the world. Whereas kids who have all the riches at their disposal, who are surronded by luxury, but who are lonely don't have many friends may not understand the importance of money. They might feel like having lovable people around is the most important thing. So in this case, since the rich kid had everything thing but love, and the poor kid had nothing but love hold different beliefs and both should stick to their beliefs because if the poor kid feels that money is not important, he may not work hard, and he may still live in poverty. Similarly, if the rich kid compromises his belief about having people, he maybe lonely forever. It also depends on your culture, different culture hold different beliefs. Few believe in god, few don't but both are right in doing so. A pious man is forced to do good in his life fearing that god will punish him for his evil deeds. This fear keeps his evilness locked, making him do as much good as possible. Also he prays to his god to protect him from evil. Praying helps him feel safe and might help him in reducing stress. On the other hand atheists, who don't believe in god are unpredictable. Having nothing to fear, no force to control, and no need of protection may make such people dangerous. Their evilness may not be locked in for perpetuity as they fear nothing and may do something wicked. In this case if the pious man compromises on his belief and becomes an atheist may prove deleterious for him. Losing all the fears, no one will be able to confine him, he may start doing things which because of the fear of god punishing him he would have not done in the first place. Hence, compromising belief in such situation might prove to be more harmful. So its usually better to stick to them.