It is important to use English language for the development of tourism. Some people thinks that this will lead to English spoken globally. Discuss its advantages and disadvantages.

Tourism has increased from the last few decades, along with it, the English language also spread widely. Some people claim that with an increase in travellers, English will become an international language. This advocacy will definitely provide convenience to individuals, and also grow the economy globally, but on the other hand, local culture and languages will vanish. To commence with, having English as a global language will provide convenience to travellers. Anyone can visit abroad with a knowledge of one language, talk with native speakers and exchange their ideas, values and belief. They would not have any difficulty in understanding the perspectives of the host country's residents. Moreover, it will also play a pivotal role in boosting the economy. As, a vast number of travellers will visit various tourist attractions, which further lead to financial growth. In the USA, for example, people from the world will visit, stay and buy stuff from the local shops, as a result, the country will progress. Despite the advantages, demerits can not be ignored. The predominant one is the extinction of local languages. With the expansion of English, local languages will be less spoken among the residents, in a long run, these languages will fade out from society. In Canada, for instance, English has overtaken their local language, French because of migration and tourists. Consequently, native culture and traditions will also go off the road. To conclude, undoubtedly, having English as a global language will create a lot of benefits, but the disadvantages such as vanishing of historic languages and values can not be neglected.