It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age, punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion?

Childhood is the best phase to shape their personality, they can easily learn about right and wrong. One way of making them learn is through punishment. In my opinion, I agree that punishments are helpful in making their future. Primarily, it is vital for children to know their code of conduct and the consequences from the very beginning of their lives. However, giving punishment is a way to make them realize. It does not mean to treat them harshly but to instill the feelings to weigh their actions before doing anything. By experience, children have the habits of throwing things i-e toys and food. Parents took away his favorite toy as a form of punishment. When he repeated the same act, they were patient and reduced his playtime. Gradually, the child realized that his behavior is not welcomed, and he eventually stopped throwing things away. Therefore, children should be able to realize their own mistakes by doing such practice. In addition, children are prone to make mistakes. If they are not punished, they might end up in a huge crime. Hence, parents should observe their behavior be it taking someone’s pencil or an argument over a pack of candies. To illustrate, an American child psychologist from the University of Geneva conducted a research on 60 children. He installed digital cameras in their classrooms as well as home to observe their behavior closely. Those who were caught red-handed, as in stealing a pencil or a notebook were laid back in-game time while others played a football. Furthermore, some were left unpunished at home over a fight, which later gave them courage to repeat the same mistake thus, a child needs to be treated If he does anything wrong. However, most of the parents think that a child is too young to be taught anything, which I think is entirely wrong. Since the fear of punishment could make them think twice before going for a mistake. For example, Alex Peter in his book ‘good and bad parenting’ written in 2004, stated that children who stayed busy in playing games rather than completing their home-work were punished smartly. Their parents stopped giving their pocket money. As a result, they were not able to buy anything of their choice but to eat out of the lunch box only. Therefore, treating them in time shapes them the best. To recapitulate, parents should be actively working on children’s behavior, punishing them at the earliest and rightfully is the key. Henceforth, the deeds of a child shall be acknowledged. Although punishment does not just help them to progress but also direct them to the right path, I believe physical punishments should be avoided.