It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction. with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them to learn this distinction. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children? Learning how to judge what is the appropriate things to do is essential to youngsters. However, I personally don’t support the idea of teaching them this through harsh punishment. Punishment should not affect a child negatively, rather it must be constructive for them. To begin with, to teach children critical thinking is important. The approach of the Internet and social networks to adolescence is tremendous. Controversial arguments, fake news, unhealthy viral trends are all over cyberspace. Educationists and parents have to guide them to the right directions. Thus, punishment is reasonable as it helps to penalize for their wrongdoings and teach them morality. For instance, in Britain, when a toddler is disobedient, his mother does nothing but ignore and stay silent to him until he realizes his mistakes and promises not to do it again. On the other hand, it is obvious that some punitive measures are unsuitable like physical ones. Parents should not be driven by any sort of personal anger and frustration while punishing their children. The only purpose of punishment any parents should remember is to train their offspring to be a fine man or woman to come into life; not to hurt them. I have witnessed and have experienced myself, as a typical Asian child, to be pushed and be pressured and be given rough punishments by my parents, which made definitely depressive and bad effects to me. Moreover, there are several suitable penalties to children’s mischievous behaviors, except for beating them or verbally humiliating them. For example, kindergarten teachers in Japan asks children to plant trees as a punishment. Many schools in India punish children by asking them to run few kilometres. Such punishments are constructive for children’s health and society as well. All in all, I believe that children do need to distinguish good and bad things at early age and punishment is one of the effective tools to guide them. However, parents and teachers must use practical and positive punishments to show them the right paths.