It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

Nowadays one of the most controversial topics is how fewer people today write letters compared to the twentieth century. There are two main causes, and a number of key impacts, which I will outline now. The main cause is probably the advanced technology development, meaning that communication is becoming more efficient. Writing a letter, mailing or post cards are replaced by text messages, phone calls, social platform communication tools and even video calls. In this information age, we are experiencing rapidly shift from traditional products and services to technological products, including communication tools. Furthermore, the other key factor is the fast-paced modern lifestyle requires us to communicate faster and more accurate. Mailing and post cards usually takes 1 or 2 days to arrive or even a longer time depends on the distance. Besides, there is a risk of losing mail and post cards while delivering. Conversely, texting and phone calls are much faster to pass on the information and there is a minimum risk of losing information. Regarding to the effects on the future generations, perhaps the main impact is the decline of writing skills. We have less opportunities to practice handwriting nowadays, especially after guaranteed from schools. Nowadays, most of the companies are communicating via emails or present online reports. In addition, all spellings and grammars are auto checked by computer systems. For further generations, there will be even less chances for them to actually write down something, thus the writing ability will be reduced desperately. The other main effect is a high unemployment rate for couriers or mail delivering person. This job will no longer be available if no one will write a letter or post cards. Overall, the causes of this trend are primarily to do with the enhanced technology and the fast-paced modern lifestyle, and the effects on further generations are decreased writing skills and a high unemployment rate in mail delivering sector.