It is generally agreed that fewer people today write letters (through the mail or post) compared with the twentieth century. What factors have led to this situation? What will the impact be on the lives of future generations?

Hand-written correspondence is considered as a conventional information exchange method, as it is clearly shown a considerably less number of people are choosing to write letters nowadays. There are a few main causes and two key impacts, which I will outline now. For an exchange-geared society when information traverse rapidly is a key element to the success of any type of business, meticulous hand-writing is becoming extremely slow and out-dated. By simply taking advantages of the convenience of e-mails or any other social applications, now individuals can make decisions in the last minute without enduring hours and days looking forward to a proper reply. Moreover, when the popularized of transportation methods and the evolvement of tourism industry emerge, people are now travelling all over the world, from mysterious Egypt to fascinating Africa jungles. The notion of checking online mailboxes is wiser and less time-consuming. One further factor is because of the deterioration in paper and ink quality, we all have some valuable keeping memories and the degrade of hand-written letter can be troublesome. This is solved by storing "electronic letters" in an "online container" as it does not require a physical instruments that tend to be lower in quality gradually Regarding the impact on further youngsters, there are both positive and negative effect occur. Firstly, consider the cost-saving facet in the long run, the amount of money spent of printing, producing paper is not something that can not be hinderred. Not to mention that paper is mainly made from woods, a halt in using paper is somehow brings in environment protection element. However, even it seems like a refined solution, hand-written letters deliver great meaning into it and sometimes it is an unforgettable memory for whoever receives it. Letters are heart-toughing whenever we re-read and this is something irreplacable for each person. To sum up, the cause of this trend is primarily from the techonology development, and the effect are felt in terms of cost and people's emotions.