It is generally accepted that families are not close as they used to be. give some reasons why this change has happened and suggest how families could be brought close together.

It is commonly seen that nowadays the families are not close as they supposedly. There are many reasons behind this change and few of them are summarizing below from my point of view and the suggestions to bring them close together. Initially, one of the main cause that the families are not close as before is due to the concept of a nuclear family. In this type only parents and their children are included so they do not get a chance to mingle with their relatives which can make them even unaware of their immediate relatives and also reduces the bondage with them. So to solve such things, gatherings on occasions plays a major role to interact with the family members. Moreover the gap in the families today is due to higher education done in countries other than the home country and work abroad. This diminishes the interpersonal relationship among the family members. For example, in Kerala the surveillance indicates that either one or more persons in one family amongst 80% of families are away from their loved ones as they pursue higher education and job. However this could be problem the modern technologies and advancement in social medias making them close together. In conclusion, it is seen that the families are not close as they used to be due to Nuclear family and as an impact of pursuing higher education and work abroad which can certainly be overcome by use of social medias.