It is common nowadays for each member of the family to have their own piece of modern technology. some people think this will lead to a break down in family relationships and communication.

In this technological era, the usage of modern technological appliances seems to be inevitable anywhere and anytime, including our family environments. A large number of people including myself believe that the excessive use of those gadgets will lead to a toxic family relationship. I partially agree with the facts that excessive use of digital technologies lead to a toxic family relationship and I will share my reasons why. On one hand, the invention of gadgets has made teenagers avoid spending time with their family members and instead spend their free time opening their social media to communicate with their online friends instead of having a face to face communication with their parents. As we know, spending time with family is necessary for creating a healthy family relationship. The excessive use of gadgets slowly expands our distance between each family members which will possibly end up in a toxic relationship where fights will occur due to lack of communication between one family member and the other. On the other hand, however, development of technology in this millennium has proofed to be very useful during this COVID-19 pandemic. COVID-19 pandemic has restricted all family members from physically meeting each other at a certain place due to the strict enforcement of social distancing. Now, with the invention of online meeting applications such as Zoom and Google Meet has enabled all family members to meet each other virtually despite being located far away. This means that family members will be a little bit relieved to meet their other family members after not seeing them for some time despite it being online. In conclusion, despite the fact that excessive usage of gadgets leads to cracks in family relationships, the balanced usage of gadgets for family purposes will be useful to reunite long separated families.