Completing university education is thought by some to be the best way to get a good job. On the other hand, other people think that getting experience and developing soft skills is more important.

There is a general consensus that a decent job can mostly be obtained by having higher studies; however, other individuals insist that adequate experience and good interpersonal qualities play key role in getting a skilled job. In my opinion, I believe that acquiring a job is mainly depends upon the type of occupation that anyone wants to pursue. On the one hand, some people deem that college education is crucial to obtain a job in formal sector. This is more likely due to reason some white-collar professions such as an engineer, a doctor, and a scientist have high status relative to labor jobs. That is why if one wants to pursue his career in any of these fields, he must have to complete professional degree. For instance, many governments have set eligibility of completing a university education to become a doctor. Thus, it can be said that a person cannot get a good job unless he completes a tertiary degree. On the other hand, it is widely accepted that hands-on knowledge and good communication skills are more useful to start a good career. This is mainly because of the reason that many jobs, notably marketing and business require people with good communication skills. Without such expertise, it is difficult for an employee to crack and grow in such kind of jobs. Likewise, an adequate experience plays a vital role to get certain works such as flying planes, which is only possible if a person has already relevant experience otherwise, he would not be eligible for such profession. Finally, I feel that whether higher studies or experience is required for getting a decent jo is entirely based on kind of work. While some professions such as a scientist or a doctor need intense understanding of related academic subjects, other unskilled jobs such as a driver needs beforehand experience to get a job. In conclusion, while people have different perspectives about getting a good job with the help of higher education or relevant work experience, I hold that it is entirely based upon the type of occupation to commence a good career.