it is common for people to consume food that has been transported over a long distance.

In this day and age, it is common for people to consume food that has been transported over a long distance. It is said that if people ate food produced in close proximity to where they live, the environment and the economy would benefit greatly. I believe that the benefits of this idea are much more significant than its drawbacks. The consumption of locally produced food can have some negative effects. Firstly, farmers and food producers in a certain region will have to produce a huge amount of food in order to satisfy all the demand of people living there. This can lead to overcultivation and overgrazing of the local soils, which can in turn result in land degradation and infertility. For example, in countries with big population size like Vietnam, there is a great demand for food and if Vietnamese people only rely on the local supply of produce such as beef and vegetables, local farmers will need to raise more cows and cultivate more crops, which can degrade the soil and reduce its productivity. Secondly, eating only local produce will not encourage trade between countries. In the globalized world nowadays, many countries rely on international trade to increase their overall income and boost their economy. The consumption of local produce will not enable this trade to flourish. However, the aforementioned drawbacks can be greatly outweighed by the positive effects. Transporting food from other regions or countries requires the use of many airplanes and trucks which will release great amounts of CO2 emissions and other greenhouse gases, the main culprits for global warming which is currently having devastating effects, namely climate change, unstable temperatures and loss of habitats, on every single being on this Earth, including humans, animals, and plants. Therefore, a reduction in demand for food produced abroad can yield great environmental benefits in the longer term. As for the economy, the encouragement to eat locally produced food will boost the growth of the local farming industry. For example, increased demand for this type of food will create more jobs in food production and processing, which can reduce the currently high unemployment rates in many countries. In conclusion, when considering a bigger context, it seems to me that the advantages of buying food that has been produced in one’s local area are greater than its disadvantages when it comes to protecting our environment and caring for the well-being of local inhabitants.