It is claimed that most artists earn a little, and the state should thus provide them with financial aids, enabling them to continue with their career. I agree with this policy to be implemented in developed nations but argue against it regarding underdeveloped countries.

In developed nations, it seems rationale to point out that artists should receive governmental fundings to keep on making works of art due to their importance in enriching people's lives. A salient example of these countries would be the United States. Most cities in America are filled with murals and other kinds of artistic works, and a child who is walking along the streets in a city like New York can derive pleasure from watching these masterpieces as opposed to a town stripped of all wall arts. Likewise, by producing artistic works, whether it portrays or landscape paintings that can be hung on the walls of homes, artists can add to the aesthetic dimension of people's homes and contribute to a more relaxing atmosphere for individuals coming across them. Nonetheless, in my view, artists and works made by them can only play a role in societies where pragmatic concerns have received enough attention. In the countries with economic hardships, ranging from many African nations to some middle eastern countries, most people live below the poverty line and are so engrossed in their daily lives to find ways to make ends meet. This means that art roughly means nothing to them but a prerogative of the wealthy. Not only this, but when government directs money towards art and artists, this will inevitably reduce the allocation of financial resources to other societal issues that deserve due attention, such as low-quality education, poor quality health services, and poorly developed infrastructure, which can adversely affect the quality of life. In conclusion, it appears that artists should be supported financially by the state as their masterpieces can help people to have a more enjoyable life experience, but this should not be the case for artists living in countries grappling with financial issues.