It is believed that volunteer work should be a mandatory part of high school programmes (for example: working for a charity, providing free lunch for the homeless or coaching sports for younger children).

It is true that work related to volunteering should be a main subject in high school curriculums such as doing charity work, supplying lunch for the homeless for free or training younger children to play sports. From my perspective, I absolutely agree with this statement. To begin, doing volunteer work is likely to give children the feelings of appreciating their own life and accepting what they have. Since children have to interact with many young children or peers with miserable circumstances, they seem to think about their life and admit that they are living in a much more superior condition to these children. Therefore, they tend to not only please with their lives but also make little complaints about what they possess at the present. It can be clearly exemplified by giving food portions to homeless children or orphans. They can witness the poor conditions and really small desires of these people. As a result, they will not request unnecessary things that they want and appreciate what they have got. What is of equal importance is that this would set in children’s minds the conscience and the willingness to support others. When they have a trip to some destitute areas and give a hand in supporting the people there by giving them necessary things to satisfy their fundamental needs or helping young children to have a fun time. They would develop a characteristic which is the desire to help others and make them happier. Moreover, they seem to be sympathetic with these people. In conclusion, due to a wide range of benefits from doing volunteer work, I suppose that this type of work must be compulsory in high school programmes.