Academic competition among students

Academic competition among students in school, for some people, will bring a number of benefits for them in order to develop their characters. That’s why that competition should be maintained. On the contrary, the best way to achieve that mission is supposed to be realized by push the cooperative environment. Although I strongly agree with the second opinion, initially, I would like to show the particular reasons of these two parties respectively. An argument that is usually brought by the supporters of the competitive nuance on school is this condition will encourage students to have the strong vision of their study. This is related to the current situation when there have been students who could not understand why they have to go to school. A prime example that may represented this is a procrastination culture that recently becomes popular among pupils. Furthermore, those who criticize the academic competition culture believe that the students must have a freedom to develop themselves without any pressure. Again, in the modern education concept, every student is unique which means that each of their capacity cannot be compared based on a particular standard. For example, the students who have a good capability in language studies may have insufficient ability to learn quantitative studies such as mathematics or physics. Therefore, teachers should not force their students to have a high performance on every subject that has been taught to them. To conclude, even some people believe that academic competition among pupils will increase their motivation to study, I argue that the schools in this era should apply a breakthrough culture. This could be done by creating a learning environment that encourages the students to respect their fellows’ competency each other.