It is becoming increasingly popular to have a YEAR OFF between finishing school and going to university. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

Having a gap year as soon as school is finished is becoming a trend among young people. Before going to university, they want to explore the world for a year and then decide about their future profession. It seems a very exciting idea but, as every adult-life decision, it has its pros and cons. It is clear that having a year off would mean more time to reflect on future professional choices; however, it could mean way more than that. The opportunity of having a break after school to have new experiences, and to explore new cultures and places, can not only help with the decision on what to do in the future, but also improve the self-knowledge capacity of young people. Those life-experiences can be highly enriching and even decisive before committing to a program and career, since only knowing what you like or do not like will be able to clarify ideas about what you would feel good about professionally doing for the rest of your life. On the other hand, the year spent off can be seen as a year lost if considered from a more conservative point of view. Young people who have a gap year need to be aware that they will be a year behind their high school colleagues and probably enter the job market later as well. Moreover, the lives of people who stay in their comfort-zones keep going. As a result, there is a risk of reality chock when the young person comes back to their regular life and needs to adapt to it. Before deciding to take the year gap, school finishers should be aware of the risk of losing connection with their network and friends, since the daily contact will be lost for a time. To conclude, the life experience of a year gap can be an absolutely enriching experience for young people despite the drawbacks and risks it may has. Having a year off before going to university can reveal new opportunities throughout the exercise of self-knowledge and enable the means to choose a safer path to their career and future.