It is becoming increasingly popular for school leavers to take a year off before going to university. Do the advantages of this outweigh any disadvantage?

Students, who graduate from high school, are becoming interested in taking a gap year before starting in college. I firmly believe that the benefits of a gap year overweigh the drawbacks. The downturn of taking a year off is that it can make students lose academic momentum. This is because they could forget the lessons which are collected for many years after they suddenly stop studying to take a yearly break. To explain, a large number of lessons are used in university lecture so it is easy to forget. Therefore, it makes them cannot study in university smoothly. Despite the negative aspect, a gap year has several strengths. To begin with, students can have more time to find some motivation. If they take a year off, spending time for travel is good for finding motivation. For example, art museums are fantastic places which can encourage people to become artist. Moreover, for students who interested in geology, mountains and caves are superlative locations to inspire them. Another plus point of taking a gap year is that students might spend time learning other language. For instance, many schools in Thailand do not teach English enough while English is certainly important in this day. That’s why Thai students want to take a gap year for studying English before going to university. In conclusion, this essay feels that pros of taking a gap year clearly overweigh the cons. Some of the positive aspects are that it makes students have more time to find some motivation, and might spend time learning other language.