It is always said that a person living in his past is never happy with his present life. eeewx

It is always said that a person living in his past is never happy with his present life. The prompt states that learning about the past has no significance for those people who are living in the present. While it is important in one's life to always live in the present and not to be daunted by the past, in my opinion, I agree to the prompt, but only to a certain extent. Completely ignoring or discarding the past is not healthy. It is true that we should always be looking forward in our life and be making decisions in the present that shapes our future, but it is equally important to learn from what the past has taught us. For example, the human civilization has witnessed two ugly world wars, which has caused havoc to millions of human lives all across the globe. It resulted in death and suffering, and forrced our society to rebuilt itself from the very foundation. Today, the current generation has taken a lesson from our past, and has taken measures to avoid such conflicts that causes destruction in a large scale. The United Nations is one such prime example. This organisation, along with many others are striving for global peace. However, sometimes it is important for us to not look back and learn about things from our past. Our society is heavily centred around the concept of faith and religion. And it is a fact that a lot of these religious values are orthodox and regressive. However, positive changes are being made, where we are continously being more open to different human perspectives and discarding these archaic and orthodox norms. Therefore, one must try not to re-learn or even explore these values ever again. Acceptance of LGBTQ community in our world and their liberation movement is one such example. We have to be more accepting and move forward with our lives, without ever going back to the haunting past. Hence, I believe that in some cases, it is crucial for us to learn from the past. But in other cases, we have to ignore the past and be mindfully living in the present. Like a majority of the questions that humans have posed, there is no one right or wrong answer to this either.