It has recently been suggested that the classical, or “dead”, languages Latin and Greek should be re-introduced into the school curriculum. Those that oppose the idea claim that the ancient languages are of no practical use and no help in getting a job. Those in favor of the idea say that education is more about training the mind than preparing for a career Which of these points of view do you most agree with? Support your argument, where possible, with reasons and/or examples from your own experience and observations.

It is argued that classical languages like Latin and Greek should be reintroduced into the school curriculum. This essay disagrees with this statement and believes that education should be focussed on career development. The essay will first discuss the potential negative impact of introducing traditional languages in study course, along with supporting arguments, followed by a reasoned conclusion. To begin with, there are numerous reasons why we should not force the students to study Latin and Greek at School level. But the most notable one stems from the fact that pupils have right to choose the subjects of their interest so that they can perform to the best of their abilities. For example, a child might be fond of science fiction while another might love drawings and paintings. Moreover, it is a popular belief these days that if we try to judge a fish by its ability to climb the tree then it would remain stupid forever. Some may offer a contrary argument that education must be diverse rather than focussing on job future opportunities. However, it also needs to be taken into consideration that the world economy has changed and competition demands more and more expertise in every field. The most concerning aspect about this fact is that students might lose interest in study because if they do not like a subject or feel that it would not help them in career. This idea is completely unacceptable, as use of traditional languages is limited to students of literature who can enrol to study them after school. Taking into account the arguments discussed, we can conclude that ancient languages like Latin and Greek must remain optional course of study for those opting for higher education or career in linguistics or literature.