It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good detrrant to prevent heinous crime. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrant.

Sentencing death penalty for a shockingly evil sin is a common belief. On the contrary, there are some counter belief that life long sentence could be a better deterrant to capital punishment. This essay will discuss both the views as measures to prevent serious mishaps. Firstly, death sentences gives a relieve to the victim and their family members. However, leading a life is everyone's right and cannot be violated. People who are involved in a wicked crimes like murder, rape should be punished in a way that sets an example in a society that such crimes leads to legalized killing. If criminals are not punished by judiciary in a right manner, such mindset takes it for granted and keep on doing the crimes without any fear. Alongside, it will also saves a lot of money of taxpayers as money is utilized in jail for keeping them alive. Serious judgments are must for any dreadful crimes. For example, Saudi Arabia has a provision for a capital punishment for any heinous crimes and that is the reason they have less cases for such terrible cases. On the contrary, some people advocates that lifelong sentence is another way of giving judgment for a horrible crimes. They believe that living a life is everyone's right and this cannot be snatched from anybody because they are involved in any criminal activity. By such action, opportunity is been provided to criminals to go for a rehabilitation. For example, in Nirbhya case, driver of the bus in which crimes was taken place, sentenced to a life long imprisonment instead of judicial murder. A few developing nations have increased rate of crimes over the years due to their liberal policies. In conclusion, the beliefs over penalties in the form of hanging till last breadth or lifelong sentence are withheld with their respective pointers like forging an example in criminals mindset with a constrating view of having a life with an opportunity to change their life. This essay has discussed both the views by their supporting illustration.