It is a commonly held belief that the death penalty is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes. However, others believe that life long sentence is a better deterrent.

The rank of crimes is increasing at an alarming rate worldwide. It is believed, that the capital punishment is a good way to prevent these serious crimes. However, others think that year long judgement is way better. This essay will discuss the above mentioned views in further detail. On one side, individuals opine that the execution is the best way to prevent the barbaric crimes. Firstly, the offence committed, is too severe which cannot be tolerated in the society and hence, there should be some repercussions for that. Secondly, many criminals might think twice before committing any offence, which will lead to drop in the crimes in the community. For example, a survey report submitted by an agency, stated in Saudi Arabia there was about 85% of the decline in transgression after implementing strong stringent laws. On the other hand, people animadvert that giving long life sentences is a better deterrent to tackle this issue. In other words, the punishment should be given based on the crime, because there are some illegal acts which are more severe and some which are less severe. In addition, the culprit feels guilty of their misdeed, when they are spending their time in the prison. To illustrate, a survey report submitted by an integral factor in India, stated that about 65% of the wrongdoers feel bad during the tenure of their life sentence in jail. To conclude, the rate of crimes is exceeding at an alarming rate worldwide. This essay discussed why death sentence is a good deterrent to prevent heinous crimes has its benefits and why giving life long sentence is ultimately superior.