IT has reduced social inequality

Nowadays in developing society, information technology is contributing a significant part to the convenience of humans’ life. Based on that, some people think that information technology is helping reduced social inequality, but that is not the case. While information technology is developing rapidly, there are still some people has many difficulties in accessing Internet, they may be left further and further behind. In some poor countries, the number of people able to read are fewer than 50 per cent of population. This is because they doesn’t have money for going to school or their countries doesn’t support them for going out of illiterate. Because of that, their access to IT is impossible. Another major problem is basic infrastructure inadequate. The big problems is their electricity cannot provide widely for IT things. In some area, internet broadband cannot reached to many rural areas, or maybe these are very expensive to have an Internet access due to the geographical problems. The Internet may actually be increasing social inequality between developed areas and rural areas. Even where IT access available, governments often fearful of well-performed public. The use of blocking software and firewall is common. They has banned many website and software which is widely using around the world for reason that they told every body is ‘for countries’ safety’. Although there are some disadvantages with research for education and science, they cannot reached to many documents sharing on global network. In short, information technology cannot reduce social inequality due to many problems are still appearing as above.