It has now been observed that many high school students are unprepared to respond in acceptable ways to situations in school, and less so in a wider social environment. Some educators argue that the school curriculum should emphasize the development of students’ life skills rather than knowledge. Others are against this proposal because they think knowledge is the most important to career success in a knowledge-based economy. In what extent do you agree? You can write about 250 words, using reasons and examples to support your position.

Knowledge and life skills are fundamental things required to have an up-and-coming career. However, there has been a long-lasted debate on whether the authorities should shift towards a life-skills emphasized curriculum or keep the traditional one which pays much attention on knowledge. This essay attempts to advocate the former stance. It is no doubt that knowledge acquisition is the key opening the door heading to success. What people gain from class is a great assistant helping them get the most general view about the world as well as themselves. For instance, a biology lesson can demonstrate the operation of a normal human’s body. Additionally, geography has the power of leading people to every corners of the world. Thereby, they can figure out about the culture and unique tradition of those landscapes. Without knowledge, people would struggle a lot to achieve their goal. However, if people don’t learn essential skills, hardly can they survive and develope. Therefore, if knowledge is the key, then life skills will be the light of their own which keep them safe away temptations as well as leading them to their target. First, so as to have healthy relationship in social life, the skill of communicating and socializing is minimum requirement. Extracuricular activities will give students the free rein of learning experience on how to mingling with everyone. Second, avoidance of wrongdoings via basic lifeskills taught at school will lessen the number of deliquent juveniles. For instance, the situation that strangers with bad intentions entice little kids into unconciously committing crime is not rare in this digital era. Proper and official lessons on how to prevent and deal with such situation will entitle children to save themselves. Last but not least, knowledge has never been enough to solve a social problem or a conflict; however, life skills can. On a daily basis, people usually have to face up to various issue like stress, generation gap, online attack. The ability of analizing and overcoming those hindrances can help students expose their full potential in learning and future career as well. To conclude, the paper aimed to support the proposal of a school curriculum that emphasizes more on life skills rather than unnecessary knowledge regarding the merits of life skills.