It has been said, “Not everything that is learned is contained in books. ” Compare and contrast knowledge gained from experience with knowledge gained from books. In your opinion, which source is more important? Why?

Books or experience, a category that has raised an assumption about the acquisition of experience not necessarily being from books. From my perspective, as everything depends on the type of profession a person pursues, neither domain should be valued more than the other. On the one hand, books are ideal for academicians who pursue higher education or aim at working on abstract concepts in theory. For further explanation, books contain knowledge, information, and research conducted through centuries that provides mankind with the best access to an enormous source of intellectual knowledge. To illustrate, the availability of previous work and research from illustrious scientists, mathematicians, or physicists is essential for those whose professions belong to science because of its strong foundation and effective assistance in solving current scientific mysteries. Knowledge, especially from technically-related books, is thereby deemed as the world’s greatest legacy, which leads to inventions and discoveries that exceed human’s capabilities such as computers, robotics, or facts about the universe. In a word, books help mankind push back the boundaries of human knowledge, thus erasing all of the scientific or social misconceptions. On the other hand, the suitability of real-life experience fits those whose occupation is to personally deal with people. The reason is that the interpersonal ability when working with people, not with abstract theories, can only improve by trials and errors. For example, being an effective teacher requires the accumulation of experience because of the diversity of students. Due to the differences in students’ ability to absorb knowledge, personalities, and attitudes, the adoption of various teaching methods is essential, which results from difficulties dealing with students. Unlike mathematics or physics, whose formulas’ application is possible within almost any problem, the diversity of real-life situations is such that regardless of the number of books read, personal experiences are limited to individuals only. Knowledge gained from experience, hence, should not be depreciated compared to that from books. In conclusion, both methods of learning, whether it is from books or experience, benefit people. While books are essential for scientific-related fields, experience is suitable for interpersonal-related professions. As the importance of each type of learning depends on the purpose and the profession people pursue, neither should be considered as more valuable than the other.