It has been observed in many countries recently that fewer students are choosing to pursue studies in science. Why is this happening? How might society be impacted by this?

In several parts around the globe, it has been noticed that candidates being enrolled in science studies as their major have dramatically decreased. In my opinion, the main reason behind this is the difficulty of studying science in comparison to other subjects. This will negatively affect society because of the lack of vacancies and professional scientists. Regarding possible justifications for the decline in science scholars numbers, the chief cause is that many students find numerous hindrances during studying the scientific content. To illustrate, Biology students have to spend their days between libraries and laboratories. This is mainly because they need to investigate more theoretical information before conducting hands-on experiments. Unlike their mates, who study fancy subjects such as computer science or business, they neither enjoy their studying materials nor have enough time allocated for leisure activities. Even if they manage to overcome this stressful study, unfortunately, they will not be able to land a lucrative job. In terms of feasible effects on society, there are two detrimental problems resulting from fewer students choosing science as their major. The first impact is the massive rise in the unemployment rate. For example, in Egypt, since many candidates are highly attracted to study commerce and business, they encounter fierce competition while applying for jobs. As a result, the majority of them ended up being unemployed. Another profound negative effect is the shortage of scientists who serve any society in many fields. For instance, during the pandemic period, had not countries had a professional scientific base as nurses, biologists and doctors, the condition would not have been controlled. To conclude, I believe that many students do not prefer studying science due to the hectic and excessive effort needed to study it aligned with limited vacancies. Therefore, society will suffer from unemployment rate as well as the shortage of scientists