It has been argued that making the gas price increase is the optimal method to tackle traffic congestion and pollution problems

It has been argued that making the gas price increase is the optimal method to tackle traffic congestion and pollution problems. While it would be seen some positive effects to a few aspects when following this way, but I disagree with this point of view and believe that there are other effective remedies to solve the problems above. On the one hand, with the rising cost of petrol, people would prefer to limit their vehicle’s usage in the beginning, then tend to find and change into alternative energies which are economical, renewable, and friendly with the environment. In this case, the environmental issue might be slightly decreased; on the contrary, the congestion would not be solved. Another drawback from the growth of the oil price might be increasing the fee of large transport means such as bus, coach, and train which are expected to restrict the number of private vehicles circulating on the road. Therefore, increasing the gas cost would not be the best answer for the two questions of traffic and pollution. On the other hand, luckily there are several effective remedies to deal with these dilemmas. In my opinion, investing to find environmentally friendly energies such as solar power could be the ticket. They are essential due to the fact of resource exhaustion recently and could decrease bad impacts on the air pollution from using petrol. The second method is that the government should encourage citizens to use public transportations more frequently and limit personal vehicles by several practical actions. For example, if people can travel by bus at no charge, I believe that the number of those taking the bus will increase significantly. In addition, putting heavy taxes on personal vehicles such as motorbikes and cars might be a consideration. In conclusion, increasing the price of petrol is not the best way to resolve the growing traffic congestion and pollution. Thus, an effective way to control the aforementioned issues would be to use other renewable sources of energy and simulate travel by public means of transport which can significantly bring down traffic and pollution problems.