It has been a routine for years that, for public educational institutes, candidates must possess very high scores to be considered for admission. In your opinion, should academic achievement be the primary consideration for college admission?

Academic achievement is a crucial part that not only every students, but also educational institutes, it is treated as a standard to evaluate students entering public schools. Nevertheless, a myriad of people argue that is unjust and should be reconsidered for assessing candidates through academic achievement to get accept from public educational schools. I agree with statement due to the fact that using academic performance to carry out college admissions is unfair to some students, especially those from poor economic backgrounds, or students good at extracurricular activities. To begin with, a student couldnot good at academic performance is a disadvantage way for them to get college admissions. Nonetheless, this point ignores the fact students who do not excel in academics but perform exceptionally in other areas such as sports, extracurricular activities. Sundquist (2017) indicated that in this day and age, every higher educations still admit many academically qualified students; however; they also realize students with athletic achievements could get into college because those students good at extra curricular have an able to become a team captain, able to showcase their leadership abilities. Fairburn’s 2008 study (as cited in Wyble and Earl, 2009) mention that many teachers and researchers have started to appreciate the educational advantages of extracurricular activities, they believed extracurricular activities are also a factor for learners could get a college admissions (p. 10). Another disadvantage of using academic achievement to assess going college is that not everybody could afford to pay for their children a best tutor to prepare for this crucial exam. For instance, preparing to go college for students who come from low income families, so they might lost some opportunities to get a great study or access to test-preparation programs, and it lead them not get a highscore or go to pretigious schools. According to Carnevale et al. (2003), they asserted that students from the families with the lowest socioeconomic position or the lowest-income tend to get the lower score (p. 131). In addition, Bernhardt and Evan (2013) mentioned that several low-income students confront a variety of obstacles that make it difficult for them to effectively prepare for college and receive admission (p. 206). It is one of unfair causes when admissions to colleges are based on academic performance. Many people argue that highscore is essential key to get a college admissions, it is a part to assess the strongest sign of students ability to do well in college. Yes, it is true; nonetheless, there are still several way to evaluate the learning capabilities of students. As stated previously, Anson and Scherer (2014) claimed that higher educations now are alternative and improved to determine another experience in other areas not just only academic achivement. To conclude, academic achievement is the most important factor in determining a student's ability to attend college. Nonetheless, high scores is not true part to evaluate to college admission because the human potential goes beyond performance, and it is also unfair for those who imporverished. Therefore, academic performance should not be a primary concern for college admission.