Is there a relationship between peer pressure and students’ self-development?

In my essay, I intend to demonstrate that positive peer pressure is beneficial to self-development and that even negative peer pressure can benefit some people. I believe that positive peer pressure can motivate people to succeed and that resisting negative peer pressure can help people develop character. Peer pressure refers to the social impact that members of your peer group have on you. People who like to impress others are more likely to succumb to peer pressure than those who have more to lose by leaving their group. Gangs in the United States are a good illustration of people who have more to lose. Members of the band will frequently have little else going on in their lives to allow them to leave their squad. If they are forced to do something for the gang, they are more vulnerable since they cannot risk losing their band membership. Positive peer pressure, I believe, can motivate a person to succeed. This appears to be demonstrated through sports and competitive events. People who participate in competitive events are often compelled to work hard by their willpower and the expectation that they will perform well. When a competitor performs well, their peers adore them. If a competitor performs well, they may face ridicule, threats, and even violence. Because of peer pressure, competitors in sporting and competitive events are encouraged to do well and flourish. Peer pressure has both benefits and drawbacks, but on the whole, it can aid a person's emotional and social development. Beneficial peer pressure can have negative consequences, but the result is usually upbeat. On the other hand, if a person can recognize and resist negative peer pressure, it can significantly impact their personal development. It may also assist that individual in maturing because a mature person can risk putting something on the line to grow.