Is the Death Penalty Effective?

Does the death penalty cause reduction in murder and other crimes? Most of today’s societies seek the abolition of capital punishment. However, there are a lot of countries that use execution as law. There is an old debate between for and against death penalty, which includes three general heading: Mortality, utilitarian and practical. In this essay we will discuss them in both opinions. Firstly, I think death penalty not only doesn’t reduce homicide, but also it is inherently violent. Proponents of this idea claim that capital punishment violates the condemned person’s right to life and it is fundamentally inhuman and immoral. In addition, they point to researches that show death penalty is not more effective deterrent than the alternative sanction of life or long-term imprisonment. They also declare that the death penalty can’t be administered in a manner consistent with justice. Therefore, this group is trying to abolish execution. On the other hand, there are some people who support the death penalty based on this proverb: ” An eye for an eye and a tooth for a tooth”. They believe execution is a just from of retribution. In another word, those who commit murder, because they have taken the life of another, must forfeit their own right to life. also they express that the death penalty makes it impossible for criminals to do bad things over and over and it means we can all feel safer, as they can’t commit anymore crimes. Moreover, those who support this opinion believe that it’s possible to fashion laws and procedure that ensure only those who are really deserving of death will be executed. To sum up, both opinions are common in world and the proponents of each provide reasons and evidence to substantiate their claim. Opponents of execution believe it increases violence while, the opposite side claim that death penalty decrease crimes and stops criminals. I personally believe that we shouldn’t retaliate to prevent a wrongdoing and I think today’s civilized societies need more humanitarian laws.