Is punishment good for children?

One of the major challenges that people have always been concerned with is how to raise their children so that their children have a decent personality in their adulthood. With the latest advancements in the field of psychology the importance of punishment in the early childhood is in the spotlight as it has chronical effects on the personality of children in the future. Human brain's development is based on a rewarding system in which the brain is supposed to pursue what it was praised for and avoid the deeds which it was punished for. According to the nature of our brain, time and again it's been proven that a complete abandoning of punishment for children will cause serious consequences for them and development of their personality will be disrupted. But as a major trade off, the more we emphasize on punishment the more we're restricting the child's sense of freedom and creativity. As recently have been debates about letting children experience the world by themselves. The second argument however may invigorate the sense creativity and independence but it will definitely cause the process of learning to drag on for a longer time. So it will come at a cost. In order to treat children in a way that they get the most out of their life without sacrificing one thing for another it's best practice to maintain an equilibrium between the degree of freedom which they are granted for what they do and the punishment that they receive for the things they weren't supposed to do.