Is Neighborhood Watch Program Effective?

Nowadays, many residential complexes and neighborhoods install surveillance cameras, or special watch programs on their territory. Some complain about this, citing an infringement on their privacy. However, others believe that surveillance cameras are a good method to keep residential neighborhoods safe. Firstly, the presence of cameras and security systems reduces the level of crime. Oftentimes, many thieves are simply afraid of being spotted by the camera lens. In addition, cameras are also capable of detecting illegal activities outside the house, on the porch or in the parking lot. This is very important for those who return home late at night or leave their car at night outside. Secondly, surveillance cameras also contribute to the improvement of the standard of living in the residential complex. For example, now many tenants and guests have access to view from cameras through a special application. Thanks to this, people who come home in the evening by car can look at the parking lot in front of the house from a surveillance camera using this application, and find a convenient place for the car in advance. Moreover, cameras are often an effective way to assist the police if a crime does occur in the area. The recordings help to compose a composite sketch, understand the logic of the attacker's actions, and then catch him. In conclusion, I would like to say that installing neighborhood watch programs on the territory of a residential complex or courtyards between houses is always a good idea, because it improves and helps to secure the lives of residents.