Some people argue that school teachers should not be able to receive rewards for promoting educational products. How much do you agree with this point of view?

It has been argued that providing incentives to school educators to promote teaching products should not be allowed. Although ethical questions can be raised, I am of the opinion that rewarding teachers in this way has more benefits than drawbacks. There are several concerns associated with teachers receiving perks in exchange for educational resource promotion. First of all, teachers may end up promoting unproven or even ineffective teaching products. If an influential or ‘celebrity’ teacher is offered money or other material benefits in exchange for product recommendations, it is highly likely that money rather than research will decide the teaching approaches that educators will take in the long term. Secondly, many would argue that teachers have no place in sales or marketing. From this perspective, teachers are expected to focus only on the important job of teaching their class. However, rewarding teachers for their promotion of products has significant advantages. Firstly, it is well known that a major problem with a career in education is the lack of opportunity for advancement. If teachers can become more influential or wealthier due to hard work and experimentation with new resources, education may again become a desired career. In addition, part of the rewards teachers receive is often free resources for their schools and classrooms. Seeing that most schools are running tight budgets, any situation that leads to schools and teachers having more resources at their disposal must be advantageous. In conclusion, while using teachers as promotional tools is not ideal, this system allows teaching to become a more attractive profession and schools to be more well-resourced. Therefore, I believe that these incentives are acceptable.