Is learning a foreign language easier at a young age or as an adult.

It is proposed that adolescents usually prosper better in learning an international language as compared to a grown-up. Therefore, it is preferable to acquire a non-native language at a young age. I completely agree with the given statement. I think this way for two reasons which I will examine in this essay. To begin with, as a juvenile, the mindset of children is fresh and clear. Also, they are career-oriented. As a result, it enables them to grasp knowledge easily and quickly. In addition, a child is free from numerous responsibilities than an adult. For instance, I have learned a second language, 'French' and as per my personal experience, it was unchallenging for me to take in this language when I was twenty. But, as I was growing up, it started becoming effortful for me by the age of twenty-five as I was tangled into various family responsibilities. Secondly, a youngster has the ability to grasp anything and everything that comes in its way and without thinking about how is it going to benefit him or her in the coming future. Whereas, an adult explicitly needs an explanation of what and why the subject in question is being taught so that they can connect it to their desired learning outcomes. For example, at the school level, if a student is given a choice to learn one language amongst two or three foreign languages, that child will happily opt for one of them without thinking about how is it going to benefit them in the long run. They welcome the skills of a foreign language with open arms. To sum up, learning at an early age is smoother for kids as compared to the youth. I strongly believe that life without responsibilities makes anything easier to grasp in comparison to learning things along with life being coiled with a lot more duties.