Is government spending too much money on arts

Allocation of governments’ budget is one of the key points for political discussion. Among the topics such as public health care, military, education, and emergency aids, some people might think spending related to the arts is less important than others. However, this essay will argue that public support for cultural activities are extremely important because of two reasons. First of all, cultural activities are actually beneficial for human’s happiness. These days, it is well known that economical wealth does not not necessary contribute to mental satisfaction. Some people might find it very hard to keep their mental health stable from our busy modern life style. Here we can see the potential for arts. More and more research discover that people can be relaxed and feel positive when they listen to music or see beautiful art works. This would eventually increase people’s performance and give positive impact in the long term. Second reason is the effect for education. Music, paintings and other forms of art activities are tremendously effective to child education. Some scientists shows the connection between these activities and children’s brain development. Even though it is not so obvious at first, this will positively impact their future. Increasing people’s happiness and education is definitely the main functions that the government needs to take the responsibility for the society. In that sense, it would make sense for governments to spend the money for arts.