: Is freedom of speech necessary in a free society?

When it comes to human right, i t is important that liberty of speech be recognized and be encouraged in order to create a liberty society. There are many reasons to support this idea as following. First of all, the process when people share their opinions, their knowledge means that they are giving others fresh perspectives, brand new ideas, etc. This is because we have different mindsets, and by communication, we all grow together. For example, a group discussion is consider to be successful when a variety of arguments are came up creatively by a wide range of people. Secondly, individuals should express themselves by raising their voices, especially about negative things. Because words are powerful, words can be sharp enough to destroy crime and can even be destructive weapon to fight enemies. In Vietnam war, it was the voices of international journalists that change the public eyes on the war, which forced the US army to retreat somehow. Last but not least, we express who we are through speeches. We do not need to live up to other’s expectation or under other’s shadow. Every human being is unique, and we speak up to find our standing in lives. To illustrate this point, a LGBT case is a perfect fit. A boy is always expected to love a girl, but if that guy feel attracted to the same gender, he should not pretend to be normal but to live with his real choice. In conclusion, we need to encourage people to raise their voices and to be encouraged as well. By this way, I believe our community will be a better place.