IS COMPETITIVE ENVIRONMENT IN SCHOOL GOOD OR BAD FOR STUDENT?

Competitions exist in many aspect of life such as: playing sports, studying, working, . . . In each competition, competitive is imperative and important but in other situation it can be harmful and destructive. I think becoming competitive make students not want to help each other, resent to other, discourage students to become friends and it’s not a good way to learn. The first reason that competive in school is not good is that it’s make students not want to help each other. If a student needs help on an examination or an exercise, another student will not want to help and support, they ignore that. Because they think it will help that person get a higher mark than them. The students who don’t care about the competitive, they’re ready to help or stay in your safezone. Students often focus on the competiton than helping their peers. Secondly, in a competitive environment student’s generally resent to the people who achieve the higher grades. In every class, there’re always have the person do extremely well in everything. If it’s a non competitive environment, people will look upon with aspect and admiration. Meanwhile, in the competitive environment, people are jaelous and resentful because they know that the smart students will be congratulated. Finally, students have a highly competitive, they tend not to become friends. Making friends with people is easy but it’s maybe difficult to person who are so competitive in every situation. For example, physical education is not a highly demanding subject. Students can practice together to get a good mark – not to need competitive. But students who are aggressive do not think so, they will isolate themselves and practice on their own way instead of practicing with other students. When they are under pressure and need someone to share with, no one appear because they have always done it by themselves without friends around. In the conclusion, we all see that competitive in school has both good and bad sides. Being competitive gives us a lot of pressure, causes stress but sometimes we need to have competitiveness to make learning more enjoyable.