is Boycotting a company is an effective way to bring about change?

Boycotting company products or services of a company is an efficient way to bring change because of the care about reputation. A famous story through the years is that of Rosa Parks, who in 1955 refused to stand and leave a bus seat for a white passenger. It was a requirement at that time. A civil rights activist called Jo Ann Robinson organized a Monday boycott against Montgomery Bus Company. It went on for a year attracting the likes of Martin Luther King Jr till the segregation laws in bases were declared unconstitutional. Since then boycotting a company became an effective way of bringing change. Boycotting a company succeeds if it has a good reputation that is beginning to decline. Enough negative press report that a boycott generates can make a company shudder and agree to demanded changes. The negative publicity will cause a drop in the stock prices if the company does not act. It will finally agree to demands to prevent a possible collapse and save face. Boycott organizers might be ready to sustain it for many months until the management realizes the gravity of a boycott.