Introduce yourself, your interests and your motivations for applying to the Royal College of Art, and to this programme in particular

I am Zainab Al-Rawi interior designer graduated in 2011 from Applied Science University in BA in Interior Design with Honours degree, I came from an artistic environment, my mum is an Iraqi Artist used to have her atelier in Baghdad where I started to learn about art from my early years. Her works and her passion for art has always inspired me in all my art and design work. I have always believed in continuous learning development at both professional and educational levels, this has given me the courage to expand my limits and pursue further education that adds many values to my career. I chose this course because I want to develop my knowledge in interior design and strengthening my skills and understanding of all aspects related to interior design and aiming to use a wide range of course’s learning materials to inform my professional practice. Joining the RCA will fulfil my dream and knowledge of art and design. I expect that the course outcomes and the learning environment will help me achieve my next milestone to build a dynamic and creative contemporary interior design studio. September 2018 I establish my own company Zidesign LTD and practising as an interior designer. I have been working on some concept ideas and proposals for few projects located in the Middle East, they represent public lobbies, cafes, and Auditorium. These projects/proposals have reached different stages as some being only brainstorming studies and others have reached later stages or currently being under construction. As a newly established business, my work is mostly done through collaborations with other Architects and engineering firms, locally and internationally, where I take a specific role in the project mostly related to early researches, inspirational ideas and concept design.