Interviews from the basic selection criteria for most large companies. However, some people think that an interview is not a reliable method of choosing whom to employ and there are other better methods. To what extent do you agree or disagre

In the modern era, it is undeniable the most companies rely on interviews for hiring new employees but some people believe that this dependence on interviews is worng and other alternative should be preferred as they are better. I believe that interviews are a reliable method, and the other method cannot be considered more effective. To begin with, there are many reasons why interviews are suitable for hiring new employees. Firstly, by the interview the recruiters can get an idea about the personality and social skills of the potential employees. In interviews, there is face-to-face interaction, and the candidates have to answer impromptu questions, employees can judge traits like ability to handle pressure, confidence and ability to think outside the box In addition, although there are many other method for hiring, none of them could be considered superior to interviews. One of other common methods is the written test, which is good to judge the theoretical knowledge of the person. However, this method cannot give a good idea about the personality of the candidates. By contrast, through interviews, employers can judge both the knowledge and temperament of the potential employee. Moreover, the written test is fallible to cheating as sometimes candidates can take outside help. Another selection process is group discussion, which is good where a major job requirement is conversational and persuasion skills for instance sales jobs. They are really not suited for technical jobs because these are not customer oriented. On the other hand, interviews hold good for any type of job as interviews can frame questions to test the particular skills they require. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that preference for interview for hiring among employers is justified as interviews have advantages over other commonly adopted methods