Some people think that teaching methodology in the modern classroom should be based on experiential learning while others believe that traditional approach is still the best. Give your opinion.

Although there are many proponents of a traditional approach to education, some now believe that in the modern classroom, the methodology of imparting knowledge should be based on experiential learning. This essay explains that even though I believe that experiential learning is the way forward, traditional techniques are essential in certain cases. To begin with, experiential learning includes the recreation of real-world simulations of certain concepts or situations in front of students. Firstly, with this, they grasp concepts faster and learn in an innovative way. Moreover, learning is fun with such styles rather than being stuck in a classroom. For example, while teaching gravity and weightlessness, modern classes can use augmented reality (AR) to simulate the scientific concept. This would help the pupils understand the physics behind it in a more convincing manner. Also, enacting scenes out of World War 2 would be a better alternative to retaining the chronology of events than reading it from a textbook. Even though this might be true, there are certain subjects or instances where the traditional approach of using the chalk and the board yields better results. For instance, it is futile to waste resources to teach a primary school student the letters of the English alphabet using modern practices and the Socratic teaching method works better in these places. That is because these are a few instances where the focus needs to be more on practice rather than experience. To summarise, though I partially agree with this viewpoint that modern teaching theatres should be based on experiential learning because they offer certain distinct advantages, I still believe that traditional methodology works better at certain places. Thus, in my opinion, modern teaching practices should incorporate both techniques of teaching.