Internet brings more problems than solutions

To begin with, internet is responsible for the surge in mental health issues among our current generation. Over the years, the advancement in technology has proliferated the internet usage among users especially the use of social media such as Instagram, Facebook and Twitter. Meanwhile, the expansion of social media users has gradually transformed the platform into an avenue for users to anonymously attack and cyberbully individuals single-sidedly. As an illustration, a Korean pop singer Choi Jin-ri resorted to suicide after suffering from years of depression, where the sickness was perpetuated by malicious comments of netizens who disapproves her public persona. In brief, internet is indeed a platform which indirectly contributes to rise mental health issues where internet users play the role of perpetrators and get away easily without facing the consequences. Furthermore, internet acts as the largest platform for cybercrime. To put it simple, criminal activities come in many forms and evolves with a society’s development. In this case, cybercrimes has ranked the top in the crime list in our current technology-driven society. In view of this, the most common cyber crimes are reportedly identity fraud, phishing and data breach. Violators often take advantage of the victim’s innocence to carry out scams and earn a fortune effortlessly. For example, a widow in Malaysia had been reportedly cheated of RM1. 15 million by in individual she befriended through an online dating application in 2020. Consequently, the widow suffered from both devastation and money loss. On the whole, internet has become a platform for irresponsible parties to conduct illicit activities especially when committing crimes in real life are way harder due to stricter security forces. Subsequently, internet disconnects people from their physical life. It is an undeniable fact that internet hinders people to walk away from their screens due to the tantalizing attractions that internet offers to their users. To elaborate, the internet provides a vast array of entertainment for their users. From social networking to video-streaming and online gaming, these activities are able to captivate the user’s attention for a long time span on the screens hence obstructing them to carry on with a regular, healthy lifestyle. For instance, a headline in 2013 dropped the jaws of fellow Malaysians where a teen from Georgetown died of heart attack after playing computer games continuously over 15 hours at a cybercafe. Therefore, although internet might connect people through means of social media, yet physical interaction is vital for one’s life and internet is the obstacle that isolates people from the physical socialisation they need.