International travel has many advantages to both travelers and the country visited. Do you think advantages outweigh disadvantages?

International tourism is believed to bring substantial benefits for both the target community and visitors. Having said that, however, the serious repercussions cannot be neglected. Personally, I am inclined to the view that however grave, the attendant difficulties are overshadowed by the benefits. To begin with, the tourist industry is said to be advantageous to the destinations as well as tourists. The most obvious positive impact is economy which can flourish as a result. That is to say, flocking to these countries, holidaymakers bring with them a massive influx of foreign money, thereby, increasing the national revenue significantly. For instance, sightseers tend to purchase souvenirs when visiting a popular tourist attraction and trades like this can play a key role in economic progression. Moreover, people can expand their horizons when traveling to an exotic place with a novel culture. In other words, people get to gain a better understanding of other cultural norms. However, the drawbacks are by no means insignificant. The main downside is that fragile sites can be adversely affected by frequent visits. More specifically, the more people visit a historical place the more susceptible to destruction it becomes. This is amply illustrated by ancient monuments which constantly need to be mended. As well as this, mass tourism is believed to be responsible for numerous deleterious effects on the environment of the target country. For example, the streets of crowded tourist destinations are normally littered with detritus remaining from repetitive visits. In conclusion, although there are a number of disadvantages when it comes to international tourism, I personally believe that the benefits are far more. This is basically because when a large number of tourists gravitate towards a particular destination they help the economy prosper. As well as this, the benefits accruing from these visits are personal too since they broaden people’s experience.