International tourism has brought enormous benefits to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The travel industry has experienced a major boom over recent decades, which has helped some weaker nations to raise their failing economies. While questions have been raised regarding the negative impacts that accompany the growth in the travel sector, these definitely do not outweigh the associated benefits. The economic boost that accompanies a successful travel industry is quite well recognised and Thailand is the best example. The entire Thai economy revolves around tourism and the country had been able to uplift its socio-economic status through its flourishing hospitality sector. The growth in the number of incoming tourists leads to innumerable prospects in terms of local entrepreneurship and employment. This is also associated with international investments and infrastructure development. The national authorities, in order to ensure the safety of the international visitors, provide better law and order enforcement, improved transportation and healthcare facilities, which in turn benefit the local population. On the other hand, the rising influx of holidaymakers is associated with increased incidences of crimes and antisocial activities like drugs, human trafficking and gambling, which affect the values of the indigenous society. The local population are also affected by the growth in property prices. Environmentalists are also concerned regarding environmental remodelling that is associated with increased tourist activities in natural reserves. In this context, it is worth mentioning that, by enforcing strict law and order and implementing strict legislation, governments can control most of these negative impacts of tourism. In conclusion, it can be said that even though growth in the travel industry has accompanying negative social and environmental impacts, these do not outweigh the contributions made by this sector towards social development. However, to be successful, the government must make sure that tourism development is regulated and eco-friendly and only then can it really benefit the local community.