he dangers of smoking are well known, yet many people continue with this habit. What are the causes of this? How can we reduce smoking in society?

The adverse effect of smoking is widely known by everyone and yet a lot of people do not get affected by it. It is also known that there are several reason why people cannot stop this habit despite the fact that there are numerous activities that help in reducing the number of people smoking. Predominantly, smoking is addictive. The different chemicals incorporated in one cigarette stick contains different chemicals that are harmful to the body. Like nicotine, it will constrict the bronchial tubes and cover the lungs which could result to several diseases like lung cancer, chronic obstructive pulmonary disease and emphysema. Another reason, secondhand smoke is more dangerous to other people. Non-smokers living with smoker are more at risk of having the different smoking related diseases because they inhale the smoke more than the smoker. With the dangers of smoking, there are several programs initiated to reduce the number of smokers. There are smoking cessation programs that will help smokers to gradually reduce their smoking time, also they teach smokers on some alternatives they could use if they are having a hard time to stay away from smoking. For example, if a smoker is on the cessation program, they are taught to eat lolipop as an alternative of the cigarette. In conclusion, smoking is dangerous and addictive which is not healthy to the body. It also put one's health to a greater risk of having a disease. Although, there are programs created to stop this habit and helps people who are smoking to have a better chance of living.