Currently there is a trend towards the use of alternative forms of medicine. However, at best these methods are ineffective, and at worst they may be dangerous.

Medical science is a rapidly evolving area of science, with a series of advancements made in medical and surgical fields. Nowadays the paradigm has again shifted to the use of ancient medicine, although these methods are not effective, and might be hazardous. To begin with, the allopathic medicine provides a quick relief from a symptom, be it the Ambroxol syrup for cough or paracetamol for fever. Secondly these medications are effective as compared to primitive medicine which requires both time to display it’s action, as well as its efficacy is questionable. Modern medicine is developed after four phases of clinical trials, where the initial trials are performed in vitro. Therefore, the possible side-effects are noted, meanwhile a planned pharmacological methodology is devised to manage that. Contrary to it, the ayurvedic and unani medicine are administered without any scrutiny and research, subsequently resulting in various novel adverse reactions. The mechanism of action of new age drugs is very broad, for example Penicillin effective against various strains of bacteria. On the other hand, they are complementary to each other, the adversity of one drug is managed by the use of another. Admittedly some argue about the safety of the alternative medicine, but there is no conclusive evidence supporting the same. To conclude, the modern era medication is efficacious, quick, with known drug reactions which can be managed or monitored and is developed after through investigational studies which are approved by national and international bodies.