International tourism has brought enormous benefit to many places. At the same time, there is concern about its impact on local inhabitants and the environment. Do the disadvantages of international tourism outweigh the advantages?

The tourism industry provides a range of employment opportunites for many citizens, improving their overall well being with increased income. Many developing countries like Vietnam and Thailand rely on tourist revenue to supply local jobs and services to the community. This income, once earned, will benefit local people and their families which will in turn improve their overall lifestyle. Tourism revenue can also be used to improve the infrastructure with better roads and other facilities being built. Countries that have a large influx of tourists, for example, ensure that airports and roads are built to faciliate movement to the tourist destinations. In addition to these economic benefits, tourism most importantly promotes cross cultural experiences where citizens broaden their horizons by meeting people from all over the world. It can clearly be seen that international tourism results in many benefits for the host country. However, concerns have been raised by local communities and other governing bodies about the negative impact tourists have on tourist destinations and the local environment. When a large number of tourists arrive at a destination, they are there to enjoy themselves, and don't care what footprint they leave in the local area. Tourists litter the streets, beaches and water ways. Furthermore, they break rules and behave in a way that insults the native inhabitants. By flying or driving to destinations they also contribute to the air pollution and the global warming. In conclusion, though there are negative impacts of increased tourist numbers at many destinations, it cannot be denied that the extra income and improved infrastructure and employment rates benefits the country. We can curb poor tourist behaviour by introducing rules and local laws to encourage host countries to promote eco-tourism. International tourism is here to stay and clearly benefits a country's economy.