Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

Many people claim that governments and big companies play a primary role in protecting the environment, while others reckon that individuals also contribute to the action for environmental improvement. In response to this contentious issue, this essay will stay impartial with the statement for the following reasons. Governments and big companies should be involved in the mitigation of environmental pollution in terms of environmental protection policies. For example, the government should implement strict environmental regulations for big companies such as steel plants which are the main emissions sources that link to air pollution. According to the extensive research was conducted by Shanghai University in 2020, the air quality of Shanghai was improved by 21% during 6 years from 2012 after the Clean Air Act that penalizes the steel company not meet the standard of air quality. Thus, the roles of governments huge companies should be taken into account for environmental protection. On the other hand, individuals also can do a lot of actions to improve the environment on their own. For instance, plastic waste is one of the serious environmental issues on a global scale. In the United States, many non-government organizations encourage citizens to reduce the total amount of plastic bags by using other sustainable bags. Research conducted by Havard University in 2018 reported that the total amount of plastic bags in the United States gradually decreased by 2. 5% year by year since 2017 until now. Thus, this example indicated the significant roles of individuals that could impact the environment. In conclusion, this essay has demonstrated an impartial stance on the problem pertaining to the importance of governments and individuals' role in environmental pollution improvement.