Independent TOEFL essay - TPO 4: Agree or disagree: In twenty years, there will be fewer cars in use than there are today. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

It is a popular belief that people who are grounded in science and technology are more important to the modern society than singers and artist. I totally agree that skilled scientist and technologist are more valued than artists in today's world. I will discuss two reasons for my opinion in the paragraphs below. Experts in science and technology are more relevant today because they have contributed in many ways to humanity than artisans. Scientists and technologist have made inventions that have improved and saved the lives of many individuals. Some of these inventions include instruments used by musicians in making good music, and drugs for curing deadly diseases. For example, the piano was invented by an American scientist who lived during the twentieth century and continuous improvements are still made to this instrument by scientist till date. The discovery of a cure for cancer is also another example of the contribution of science to the world. Another reason I think well-grounded science and technology experts are considered more valuable than singers and artisans is that they dress in a manner the community perceives as responsible. Artist tend to be more daring and exploring their dress sense and people frown this. On the other hand, scientists are more inclined to wear conservative clothing. For example, many male artists carry dreadlocks and have their ears pierced and many people judge them to be irresponsible because of this. In conclusion, skilled scientist and technologist are more valuable than artist because they have contributed immensely to the world, and they wear dress decently.