Increasingly larger amounts of plastic end up in marine ecosystem, land habitats and even human settlements. What kind of challenges does this pose? What might be done to mitigate the effects?

The balance of the environment is disturbed by plastics. Accumulation of plastics poses a threat to every part of life. Life areas, seas, estates are affected by it. The aforementioned issue causes the degradation of the quality of drinking water and soil. Creatures living on land and sea are affected by this situation. However, it is possible to alleviate the problem by taking certain measures like recycling. I would like to begin with how plastics affect the environment and our area. Plastics have some harmful chemicals and it is detrimental to the balance of soil because the aforementioned chemicals leads to the soil to transfer these chemicals into drinking water. In this way, we expose to the scarcity of water because we can not consume chemicals. To exemplify, if we drink contaminated water, we will encounter some prevalent illnesses like bowel disease. That’s why as we cannot drink these waters, this can lead to water shortages and even deaths because drinking water is necessary for being healthy. Another effect of the accumulation of plastics in the areas is that governments losing a lot of money to alleviate this problem. Elimination of chemicals emitted by elastics is expensive and long process. Authorities strive to live in a clean area but it damages budget. In this way, many countries have no chance to allocate money for other developments like investing in technology. It can not be denied that spending a lot of money on these problems causes to not follow and invest the new developments. Despite having some negative effects of plastics on the areas, it can be found remedy for solving the aforementioned problem. Individuals should decrease the usage of plastic because it is in every part of life like shopping bags or bottled water but it is possible to adjust themselves fully to using non-plastic products. For instance, we can bring our bag which is made with fabric to the shopping. In this way, we can stay away from plastic shopping bags. It is worthwhile to note that governments should take precautions for this and it can be increase of the price in plastic bag. Therefore, it can be deterrent to buy these for people because exorbitant prices reduce the purchase of that product. In addition, governments should raise people’s awarenesses for recycling. If recycling increase, plastic is less harmful to nature. To exemplify, incentive programs can be implemented for promoting awareness like seminars. Thus, they are predisposed to avoid contaminate our area because they have an idea how to recycle thanks to the aforementioned programs. To sum up, the increase in plastics causes the scarcity of water and also it leads to countries not to develop. However, there are some solutions for eliminating the aforementioned problems like promoting awareness about recycling or staying away from using elastics. Individuals should find new ideas for this.