Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be effective?

The increasing number of traffic and the pollution resulting from the traffic is very sensitive issues. It has been recommended that enhancing the cost of petrol is the supreme action to minimise the above-mentioned problems. This essay will discuss why only increasing the cost of petrol is not very fruitful to control the traffic and pollution, also what other actions should be imposed to restrict the referred problems. The major cause of traffic congestion is the huge growth of private car in both urban and rural areas, which can not be reduced by only increasing the rate of petrol. The rising in the petrol cost will negatively affect the fare of public transport because public transport is the major mode of communication for the middle and lower-class people. Hence their limited budget will be scratched due to the rise in the cost of petrol. In the contrary, there is little impact of the cost of petrol on the private car owner. There are lots of measures to handle the intensity of traffic and pollution incurred from it. Firstly, alternative sources of fuel should be chosen out. Electricity driven car, bio-fuel based vehicle are gaining popularity in different parts of the world for their low maintenance and less carbon emissions features. Secondly, petrol or diesel operated vehicles must use purification spares like muffler or silencer, which is handy to minimise the carbon emission. Thirdly, traffic rules should be strictly followed by both public and private vehicles. Fourthly, increasing and facilitating public transport mode ( bus, tram, local train, DEMU etc) can be helpful to reduce the rapid growth of private car. Also, the mechanically driven vehicles like bi-cycle should be promoted. This essay discussed the various means to control the growing traffic and pollution originated from it. Though the rising of the fuel price is one of the insignificant reasons to solve the aforementioned problem, there are bunches of activities might be taken into account to entirely solved the aforesaid problem.