Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What are the measures do think might be effective.

There is no doubt that traffic and pollution from vehicles have become huge problem, both in cities and motorways everywhere. Solving these problem is likely to need more than a simple rise in the price of petrol While it is undeniable that private car use is one of the main causes of the increase in traffic and pollution, higher fuel costs are unlikely to limit the number of drivers for long. As this policy would also effect the cost of public transport, it would be very unpopular with everyone who needs to travel on the roads. But there are various other measures that could be implemented that would have a huge effect on these problem. I think to tackle the problem of pollution, cleaner fuels need to be developed. The technology is already available to produce electric car that would be both quieter and cleaner to use. Persuading manufactures and travellers to adopt this new technology would be more effective strategy for improving air quality, especially in cities. However, traffic conjunction will not be solved by changing the type of private vehicle people can use. To do this, we need to improve the choice of public transport services available to travellers. For example if sufficient sky trains and underground train system were built and effectively maintained in our major cities, then traffic on the roads would be dramatically reduced. Long distance train and coach services should be made attractive and affordable alternative to driving your own car for long journey. In conclusion, I think that long term traffic and pollution reduction would depend on educating public to use public transport more, and on government using public money to construct and run effective systems.