Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. What other measures do you think might be be effective?

The surging traffic snarls and air pollution can be restricted by increasing fuel prices. Although this can contribute to the cause to some degree, there are alternate ways to ensure the same. This essay will discuss them below. The price hike of petrol is one of the many ways to resolve the pressing concerns of increasing pollution and congestion on roads. This will discourage people from using their own vehicles and encourage them to start using other modes of transportation like buses and tubes. Especially in the case of low-income citizens, as they may not be able to keep up with inflation when their salaries remain the same. Therefore, they will look for an alternative source for commutation. Albeit this solution addresses our issue to some extent, there is a downside to this, because, people might consider using electric cars and bikes which will not solve the traffic issues entirely. On the other hand, people can consider carpooling for their everyday commute. This will not only go easy on their pockets as they can share the expenses among three to four people but also an effective way to reduce traffic, in turn, decrease the adulteration in the air. Governments can also propose other schemes to persuade everyone to use public transportation. For example, more number of metros and trains can be introduced so that commuting will be comfortable and not crowded. Besides that, fares can also be subsidised for peak hour travels and half prices for children. This will encourage families to consider leaving their own vehicles back. In conclusion, even though the fuel cost can efficiently reduce pollution to some extent, traffic problems may still remain. Alternatively, sharing cars or cabs to travel and government’s special programmes such as increased numbers of transportation and price concession can help solve both our concerns.